Bangalore Diaries#1 – The Entry, Not My Way

Bangalore!
The city of Blossom Book House. The startup capital of the country.

I don’t know what was more exciting – the books, blogger friends or the pure raw energy of startups. But I think Bangalore was always a dream destination for me. Why? Some questions have no answers. Only stories.

Jogging my grey cells, Bangalore and me go back a long way…2009…no 2006.

Bangalore-City-Junction

It was placement time for all of us back in 2006 and everyone was stress sweating out except yours truly šŸ™‚ Bindass or plain non-future conscious, you can say. My plan was simple – will try campus placements, if no one selects me I will go for off-campus placement in Bangalore! Why Bangalore? For everyone else because I was the only South Indian in the batch. But ask me. Honestly, don’t know. Just felt like it. Bas nikal gaya mooh se. But then campus placement happened and off I went to Mumbai.

Mumbai, 2009. Then colleague and now friend – Gauri Datar. We girls have a favourite pass time, right from school days. Predicting our future marriage and husbands. Don’t know about the dolls today but we sure did. Me and Gauri even did that at 27! So the pandit in Gauri predicted, my Mr. Right would be in Bangalore šŸ˜€

Bhopal, 2010. When I told Gauri that I have switched my job and shifted to Bhopal she was like, “What are you doing? You are going the wrong route baby, go south. Go to Bangalore.

Bhopal to Kochi. Kochi to Mumbai. Mumbai to Indore. Indore to Bijapur. 7 years. And finally Bijapur was intended to to lead to Bangalore. But…Twisttttt…

Bijapur-Bangalore train tickets – cancelled.
Bhopal – Bangalore flight – Missed

The transfer never happened. Patience ran out. Time was running out. So I made a run outside (Bijapur) straight back to Bhopal. After battling immense marriage pressure (Indian parents and their conventional belief that they are supposed to find a partner for their kids!) finally an invitation dropped by in the inbox. To #SURGEconference 2016 at Bangalore with complimentary media passes.

Finally, 20th February, 2016 I boarded the Bangalore Rajdhani to come to Bangalore. Do you believe in coincidence? Read this: My first day at work in Mumbai was 20th February, 2006! 10 years.Ā Exactly.

I alighted in Bangalore’s Majestic Railway Station, platform no. 9, but the entry was unlike any I had ever thought/dreamt/ planned of. At 32, there was no job letter in my bag, no salary to be sure of to pay rent of the accommodation or the expenses that will be part of living here and no sure idea of what to do. Job hunt or write or pursue the long dreamt dream of converting my little baby thetalespensieve.com into a startup.

As on today I just have dreams in the heart and determination in the mind. I am here to read the signs of the universe. To build my life the way that I am going to be even more proud of. Bangalore, You are going to love me and I am going to make you proud.

The #BangaloreDiaries Begun!

p.s. To my lovely & supportive family – I will be nothing if you didn’t support me and I will not let you down, ever. You will continue to be proud of me. Promise.

p.s. To all my Bangalore Friends – I say I will make it happen because you stand with me. Living in a new city, all alone. You make Bangalore a familiar pitch for me.

p.s. again: To the one who is responsible for this state of affairs. Thank you. My ex-employer, the poor soul who could not stick to his commitment and could not even pay me my 1.5 months of salary. Good luck, buddy. Past experience says I’ll see karma catch up. It should be fun!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Gauri says:

    I still remember those chats and future predictions and more than your destiny you made my predictions correct. It’s your dream,vision and courage God bless you buddy … Go places … Everything you wished for is just around the corner. Keep writing your expressions made me visualize the entire journey thats the beauty of your writting your honesty is your strength. All the best

    Liked by 1 person

    1. reshmyblogs says:

      Thanks you dear, Predictor Pandit šŸ™‚ It’s a joy having you around.

      Like

  2. Hemangini says:

    So you did not marry the man your parents searched for you and stayed on track of your dreams and dream man? And you even dared ditch your employer who didn’t value your creativity? Woman, you are an inspiration to me since I became your friend on facebook and reading your first blog post I am more of a fan now!

    Sincerely respect your courage and conviction for dreams and words… I love your website TalesPensive and I am sure I am going to love this blog. ā¤

    Much love and all the best for future
    Hugz
    Hema šŸ™‚
    see you

    Like

    1. reshmyblogs says:

      Thank you, Hema šŸ™‚ Miles to go before I can think of slowing down.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Devina Chugh Arora says:

    Great buddy ..all the best . Fortune favours the brave šŸ‘šŸ‘

    Like

    1. reshmyblogs says:

      Thank you buddy.

      Like

  4. Iridescence says:

    Good luck! I’m still a teenager in Bangalore.. Got a long way to go šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. reshmyblogs says:

      You’ll make it Dearie. Keep faith.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

